Welcome to the New World

I realized tonight that, in all my whining and complaining about how hard teaching is, I haven’t uploaded pictures of my classroom! I really do love my room. It’s a big sunny place (well, a big florescently lit place, but you can’t exactly expect windows as a new teacher), and I love the way my students have helped me decorate. The room is based around our big goal: we want to become “architects of our own worlds.” I’ll write more on that later, but the basic idea is that if you (ie my students) do not learn the skills of reading, writing, and respect, you have no choice about what world you live in. When you master those skills, you get to start making decisions for yourself. More detail on this at a later date, but for now, it’s bedtime. Tomorrow, I’m teaching plot diagrams, using the fresh prince theme song, a pixar short, and a short story we read. I’m so pumped!!

For now, welcome to the new world: Room 186!!

The front of my room!

student desks!

my desk!

During their first week, my students created “goal houses” to think about what the foundations are of their future goals, and what they need to do to get there! As an added bonus, they’re super pretty and now decorate my room. This picture is from my phone so it loses some of the majesty, but here it is nonetheless:

so pretty!

Sleep approaches. Tomorrow: a debrief on the week, and pictures of tonight’s lakehouse cooking night!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Robert
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 01:46:13

    Looks great, Ashley!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

