The world is full of wonderful people…

… who offer an outpouring of support when I need it. From a friendly facebook message to a frank chat with roommates, to advice and reassurance from those who have been there and done that, every bit helps. Especially a kind word from my institute colab teacher, who is just amazing and is my teaching hero for everything wonderful she is capable of.

I’m taking things a step at a time, trying to get my head above water. I’ve scheduled time to sit and talk with another teacher in my department tomorrow, and my TFA program director next week. I think these conversations will help me ground myself and clear away some of these clouds. I’ve also decided that the best possible thing I can do for my mental health is to set up exciting landmarks in my life. This weekend is a long weekend, and we’re going camping on the beach. Looking forward to that is keeping me positive.

I had been avoiding thinking about going back to St. Louis, mostly because I felt that would somehow be escapist and not productive. However, I think a quick visit to the people I love and the place I feel safe and happy would be good for me. I can get my feet back under me, relax, and remind myself that there is life outside of teaching. So I’ve decided to stomach the expense of a plane ticket (not that it’s a large expense, but I don’t get paid until the end of September, so at this point a breakfast taco is a large expense) and go to St. Louis on my October long weekend.

The thought occurred to me today, during facebooking back and forth with my amazing friend Joel. He’s one of those people I miss with an overwhelming intensity, just a wonderful person I am so privileged to know (though if he asks, don’t tell him so :p ). We were joking about him visiting me, and I started to think, offhandedly, why don’t I just visit him? and for that matter, all of my amazing St. Louis friends?

Then the school year schedule came out, and I noticed Columbus day. Oh Columbus, I have never been so happy for the undue reverence we allow you. Have long weekend, will travel?

The airfare is within my budget, timewise and moneywise. And lo and behold, I facebook my friend Uri to see if I would have a place to stay, and find out rather quickly that I do. So it looks like this trip will become my October landmark.

This is not to say I’ll be measuring the days just to get through them. But it’s awfully nice to be looking forward to going somewhere you love with so much of your heart. J’adore St. Louis.

P.S. Hot damn! That weekend is Soulard Oktoberfest weekend!! Which means polka, beer, bratwurst, leiderhosen, and of course… LOVEYKINS!!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anna
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 09:05:14

    I’m so close to St. Louis!!! What weekend is Columbus weekend?

    Reply

  2. Joel
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 02:04:37

    awww. I always knew you secretly loved me šŸ˜› I’m excited for you to come visit too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

